News

Shaw delighted to have van Gaal’s faith

Luke Shaw admits he was delighted when Louis van Gaal recently declared his faith in the young Manchester defender.

shaw

The manager stressed, “I believe in Luke Shaw,” and suggested last summer’s signing from Southampton will come on leaps and bounds next season. The left-back’s debut campaign with the Reds has been affected by injuries but he was clearly buoyed by the manager’s comments.

“I was really happy when I saw the manager had said that about me,” the defender toldManUtd.com. “Just to know he’s got trust in me is something special and I couldn’t ask for any more.”

Shaw was forced to leave the field in last weekend’s 2-1 win at Crystal Palace and he will be hoping for more luck in terms of staying fit as he bids to cement his place in the side at left-back.

“With all the injuries, it’s been quite hard,” he admitted. “My season hasn’t been the best but not the worst either.”

With United only a whisker away from definitively confirming a top-four place, there seems to be plenty for Shaw to look forward to as he approaches next month’s anniversary of his arrival at Old Trafford.

“As a 19-year-old boy, to be able to think that you’ll be playing in the Champions League next season is really incredible,” he enthused. “It’s something that I want to achieve but not just me, everyone else in the squad wants to achieve it too. It’s one of the biggest competitions in world and we all want to show what we can do on the big stage.”

Leave a comment